Dear Darlene.

I love this “Quieting Your Heart” study.

There is so much I would like to tell you, but I am running short of time, so here is what I found to be most noticeable.

Jan_Vermeer_(attr.)_-_Christ_in_the_House_of_Martha_and_Mary_-_National_Gallery_of_Scotland
Jesus said to Martha: “But one thing is needful” and I wondered what words I could put on that needful thing. And the answer was this: “But rather seek ye the kingdom of God; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

I think it is not that Martha is buzy and occupied with so many things, it is that she is cumbered, as it says in Luke 10:40. And the cumberness makes her speak demanding and with irritation to Jesus.

I know my own Martha and my own Mary and it seems to me that God is teaching me how to help my Martha go to Him before, during and after all of her business and worries, so that she invites God into all aspects of her life and thus remains in His love and kindness whatever task is upon her.

I know Joanna Weaver has written 2 books: Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World and Having a Mary Spirit. Some day I might be able to read them.

But now I am here, graeful to God for you, dear Darlene and all that you give and all that I learn from you and those who follow you. Thankyou so much.

PS. The above is a comment to  Darlene Schacht´s post on her website: “Time-Warp Wife, Keeping Christ at the Center of Marriage.”

Darlene´s post is called “What I Learned About Christmas from Martha and Mary.” Her post is a part of a 30 day study called “Quieting Your Heart for the Holidays” that started on the 22nd on November.

Here is Darlenes post:

http://timewarpwife.com/what-i-learned-about-christmas-from-mary-and-martha/

Skriv et svar

