I so love to read the words of Isaiah 11:1-10.

Especially verse 9 stands out to me: “They shall not hurt nor destroy in all my holy mountain: for the earth shall be full of the knowledge of the LORD, as the waters cover the earth” .

I am so comforted as I am also when I read Revelation 21:4 “And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.”

This night I was reminded of a Danish psalm that I know from my childhood, especially the first verse, that I can by heart and it always gives me a very special feeling of awe, joy and hope when I think of it and/or sing it.

Precisely that Danish psalm came to me, and I had to find my psalm book and sing it. So late in the evening I sat alone in my kitchen singing the Advent month in.

Translating it is a bit difficult, but the first verse goes something like this: “Make the door high, make the door wide, the King of glory is coming nigh.”

The author of the Danish psalm was inspired by Psalm 24:7 “Lift up your heads, O ye gates; and be ye lift up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of glory shall come in”.

Advent is here.

Skriv et svar

